Effective July 1, 1999, the program required under Georgia law for the restoration of a driver’s license for individuals convicted of alcohol or drug offenses was changed. Drivers who have had their license suspended or revoked for D.U.I., D.W.I., drug offenses or underage possession of alcohol and/or drugs are required to attend a Georgia Department of Driver Services licensed program prior to restoration of driving privileges. Collins Driving School licensed program also satisfies most alcohol/drug classes ordered by Georgia courts for other than driver’s license related violations.
Several reasons why an individual might be required to take the DUI/Risk Reduction Course:
- Drug Possession
- Other drug offenses
- Underage possession of drugs or alcohol
Step 1 – The Assessment
You must first take an Assessment, which is 130 questions about you and your lifestyle. The Assessment takes approximately 30-45 minutes: please plan time accordingly. Each student will receive a Certificate of Completion at the end of class. We accept Cash, Money Order, American Express, Mastercard, Visa or Debit cards as payment. You may take the Assessment anytime during business hours, which are:
- Monday – Friday: 10:00am to 5:00pm
- Saturday: 10:00am to 3:00pm
If you are unable to take the Assessment during these hours, please contact the office manager to set up a day and time more convenient for you.
Step 2 – The 20-hour DUI Course
Once you have completed the Assessment, you must attend the 20-hour in-classroom course called the DUI/Risk Reduction Program. Collins Driving School provides this course every week with the following schedule. The DDS rules and regulation forbid late entry to any session of the course, so we suggest you arrive at least 15-20 minutes early to each session.
**course fee must be paid before the first day of class** RRP# 10382 / seeking a certified DDS Spanish Speaking Instructor**